Korean Street Snack : 계란빵 “GyeRanBang” (Egg Cake) Recipe

계란빵 (GyeRanBang) known as Egg Cake/Egg Muffin, is a common winter street snack in Korea.
It consists of very basic ingredients like cake flour, sugar and egg.
I simply love this hot little snack and it taste a little sweet too!

Cant resist my temptation since I’m back in Singapore, I decided to find the recipe and bake it.

계란빵 “GyeRanBang” (Egg Cake) Recipe (can make 6 pieces)
(via KFood Addict)

The bottom bread

– 3/4 Cup Self-Rising flour (100g). or Multi-flour 100g with 1/4 Tsp of baking powder
– 1 Egg
– 1/2 Cup Milk
– 4 Tsp Sugar
– 1/4 Tsp Salt
– 1 Tsp Butter (or Olive oil)
– 1/5 Tsp Vanilla essence – Optional

For the filling:

– 6 Eggs
– 1 Bacon slice
– Ground parsley (I skip this as I can’t find any at home)
– Salt

Baking Steps:

1. Mix the flour with 4 Tsp of sugar, 1/4 Tsp of salt in a bowl.
2. Crack an egg into a bowl. Mix well.
3. Add the milk little by little into a bowl while stirring until it turns to a nice thick flour base
4. Coat the oil all side of baking pan. (oil spray recommended)
5. Pour the flour base into oval shape baking pan 1/3 much.
6. Crack the eggs one by one into each hole.
7. Put chopped bacon and a little bit of ground parsley on the top. A pinch of salt for flavor.
8. Bake it for 10-15 minutes at 180-200 degree.

Tips

– It’s good to fill the baking pan 1/3 full with flour base. If you add more than that, the egg will run over.
– Before filling the baking pan, spray(coat) the pan with some oil. It helps to take bread out easily from the hole after baking.
– If you don’t have baking pan, you can use a paper cup instead.
– You can sprinkle a little pepper on top to give the egg a little more fragrance as well!

YES! I used cute polka dot paper-cups instead since I couldn’t find my baking pan.

*TATA*

It’s really a simple snack to bake! Do give it a try if you want to bake something simple! (^o^)

xoxo,
yyann

7 thoughts on “Korean Street Snack : 계란빵 “GyeRanBang” (Egg Cake) Recipe

  1. Excellent post!!!

    I have been in Korea for 6 months, but I had no chance to see 계란빵 😦

    I ate it today at a Korean festival at Osaka in Japan.

    Do you have a post about 호떡?

    Like

    1. yyann

      Hi Nicolas,

      Wow! You’re from Japan?
      Thanks for dropping by my blog. ^^

      계란빵 usually only available during the cold period(late autumn to spring..)
      I didn’t tried 호떡 though, but you can try looking at Maangchi.com for it though. (:

      Like

    1. yyann

      Hi Dana,

      I have no idea! I couldn’t find oval mold in Singapore too.
      Maybe you would like to try ebay or amazon?

      Cheers!

      xoxo,
      yyann

      Like

      1. Dana Hess

        What would it be sold as? Just an oval mold, or would I have to type in what it is used for to find it?

        Like

Leave a Reply

